NAPTAC, Native American Parent Technical Assistance Center
kwoody@epicsnm.org | 888-499-2070

The logo of NAPTAC, the Native American Parent Technical Assistance CenterUpdated March 2017
A publication of the Native American Parent Technical Assistance Center (NAPTAC)
Compiled by Joann Sebastian Morris for NAPTAC

This list of State Indian State Education Contacts has been developed for Parent Centers and other service providers to use in identifying and connecting with the individuals who serve as their state contact for American Indian and Alaska Native Education. These individuals can be very helpful to Parent Centers and others in establishing and building relationships within Native communities in the state and in learning about ongoing activities, initiatives, and potential challenges in promoting the well-being and
achievement of Native students.

Click on your state and jump to the Indian Education contact in the state. Please do let NAPTAC know of any updates or additions needed to this list by writing to Kelsey Woody of NAPTAC at: kwoody@epicsnm.org

AlabamaAlaskaArizonaCaliforniaColoradoIdahoKansasMaineMarylandMichiganMinnesotaMontanaNebraskaNevadaNew MexicoNew YorkNorth CarolinaNorth DakotaOklahomaOregonSouth DakotaUtahVirginiaWashingtonWisconsinWyoming |

 ___________________________

Alabama

Ms. Julie Turner
Federal Programs Section
Alabama State Department of Education
Gordon Persons Building
50 North Ripley Street
Montgomery, AL 36104-3833
Phone: (334) 242-8199 | Fax: (334) 242-0496
jturner@alsde.edu

Back to top 

Alaska

Mr. Paul Pressing
Deputy Director, Teaching & Learning Support
Alaska Department of Education and Early Development
801 West 10th Street, Suite 200
P.O. Box 110500
Juneau, AK 99811-0500
Phone: (907) 465-8721 | Fax: (907) 465-4156
paul.pressing@alaska.gov

Back to top 

Arizona

Ms. Nadine Groenig
Director of Indian Education
Office of Indian Education
Arizona Department of Education
1535 West Jefferson Street, Bin 14
Phoenix, AZ 85007
Phone: (602) 542-5235 | Fax: (602) 542-5440
nadine.groenig@azed.gov

Back to top 

California

Ms. Judy Delgado
American Indian Education Program Consultant
Education Options, Student Support and Indian Education Office
California State Department of Education
1430 N Street, Suite 6408
Sacramento, CA 95814-5901
Phone: (916) 319-0506 | Fax: (916) 319-0139
judelgado@cde.ca.gov

Back to top 

Colorado

Ms. Georgina Owen
Title VII Coordinator
Colorado Department of Education
1560 Broadway
Denver, CO 80202
Phone: (720) 648-0482
owen_g@cde.state.co.us

Back to top 

Idaho

Ms. Johanna J. Jones
Coordinator, Office of Indian Education
Idaho State Department of Education
P.O. Box 83720
Boise, ID 83720-0037
Phone: (208) 332-6968 | Fax: (208) 334-2228
jjones@sde.idaho.gov

Back to top 

Kansas

Mr. Doug Boline
Assistant Director, Early Childhood, Special Education and Title Services
Kansas State Department of Education
900 SW Jackson Street, Suite 620
Topeka, KS 66612-1212
Phone: (785) 296-2600 | Fax: (785) 291-3791
dboline@ksde.org

Back to top 

Maine

Mr. David Fisk
State Director, Migrant Education, Title I, Part C
Maine Department of Education
23 State House Station
Augusta, ME 04333
Phone: (207) 624-6722 | Fax: (207) 624-6789
david.fisk@maine.gov

Back to top 

Maryland

Dr. Mary Howlett-Brandon
Lead Equity and Cultural Proficiency Specialist
Maryland State Department of Education
200 West Baltimore Street
Baltimore, MD 21201-2595
Phone: (410) 767-0367
mary.howlett-brandon@maryland.gov

Back to top 

Massachusetts

Ms. Sarah Slautterback
Homeless Education State Coordinator
Team Lead for Indian Education
Office of Student and Family Support
Massachusetts Department of Elementary & Secondary Education
75 Pleasant Street
Malden, MA 02148
Phone: 781-338-6330
Fax: 781-338-3399
sslautterback@doe.mass.edu

Back to top

Michigan

Ms. Teri Chapman
Director, Office of Special Education and Liaison for Indian Education
Michigan Department of Education
P. O. Box 30008
608 West Allegan Street
Lansing, MI 48909
Phone: (517) 335-0455 | Fax: (517) 373-7504
chapmant2@michigan.gov

Back to top 

Minnesota

Mr. Dennis W. Olson
Director, Office of Indian Education
Minnesota Department of Education
1500 Highway 36 West
Roseville, MN 55113-4266
Phone: (651) 582-8300 | Fax: (651) 582-8879
dennis.w.olson@state.mn.us

Back to top 

Montana

Ms. Mandy Smoker Broaddus
Director, Indian Education Division
Montana Office of Public Instruction
P.O. Box 202501 | Helena, MT 59620-2501
Phone: (406) 444-3013 | Fax: (406) 444-3924
mbroaddus@mt.gov

Back to top 

Nebraska

Ms. Freida Lange
Senior Administrator, Multicultural and Native American Education
Nebraska Department of Education
P.O. Box 94987 | Lincoln, NE 68509-4987
Phone: (402) 471-2444
freida.lange@nebraska.gov

Back to top 

Nevada

Ms. Fredina Drye-Romero
Education Programs Professional for Indian Education
Nevada Department of Education
700 East 5th Street, Suite 110
Carson City, NV 89701-5096
Phone: (775) 687-9143 | Fax: (775) 687-9250
fromero@doe.nv.gov

Back to top 

New Mexico

Ms. Latifah Phillips
Assistant Secretary for Indian Education
Indian Education Division
New Mexico Public Education Department
Jerry Apodaca Education Building
300 Don Gaspar Avenue
Santa Fe, NM 87501-2786
Phone: (505) 476-0545
latifah.phillips@state.nm.us

Back to top 

New York

Ms. Clarissa Jacobs-Roraback
Coordinator, Native American Education
New York State Department of Education
89 Washington Avenue, Room 475 EBA
Albany, NY 12234
Phone: (518) 474-0537 | Fax: (518) 474-3666
clarissa.jacobs-roraback@nysed.gov

Back to top 

North Carolina

Ms. Debora Williams
Special Assistant
North Carolina Department of Public Instruction
6368 Mail Service Center
Raleigh, NC 27699-6368
Phone: (919) 807-3912 | Fax: (919) 807-4065
debora.williams@dpi.nc.gov

Back to top 

North Dakota

Ms. Lucy Fredericks
Director, Indian/Multicultural Education
North Dakota Department of Public Instruction
600 East Boulevard Avenue, 11th Floor
Bismarck, ND 58505-0440
Phone: (701) 328-1718 | Fax: (701) 328-0203
lkfredericks@nd.gov

Back to top 

Oklahoma

Mr. Dwight M. Pickering
Director, American Indian Education
Oklahoma State Department of Education
2500 North Lincoln Boulevard, Suite 316
Oklahoma City, OK 73105-4599
Phone: (405) 522-1591 | Fax: (405) 522-1519
dwight.pickering@sde.ok.gov

Back to top 

Oregon

Ms. April Campbell
Indian Education Advisor
Office of Deputy Superintendent
Oregon Department of Education
255 Capitol Street NE
Salem, OR 97310-0203
Phone: (503) 947-5810 | Fax: (503) 378-5156
april.campbell@state.or.us

Back to top 

South Dakota

Mr. Mato Standing High
Director, Office of Indian Education
South Dakota Department of Education
800 Governors Drive  | McKay Building
Pierre, SD, 57501-2291
Phone: (605) 773-8194
Work Cell: (605) 280-7964
Fax: (605) 773-6139
mato.standinghigh@state.sd.us

Back to top 

Utah

Dr. Harold (Chuck) Foster
American Indian Education Specialist
Utah State Board of Education
250 East 500 South
P. O. Box 144200
Salt Lake City, UT 84114
Phone: (801) 538-7838
Work Cell: (801) 718-4381
Fax: (801) 538-7769
harold.foster@schools.utah.gov

Back to top 

Virginia

Ms. Leah Walker
Community and Minority Affairs Liaison
Office of Superintendent for Public Instruction
Virginia Department of Education
P. O. Box 2120
Richmond, VA 23218-2120
Phone: (804) 786-7082 | Fax: (804) 371-2099
leah.walker@doe.virginia.gov

Back to top 

Washington

Mr. Michael M. Vendiola
Program Supervisor, Office of Native Education
Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction
P.O. Box 47200
Olympia, WA 98504-7200
Phone: (360) 725-6160 | Fax: (360) 664-3314
michael.vendiola@k12.wa.us

Back to top 

Wisconsin

Mr. David J. O’Connor
Education Consultant, American Indian Studies Program
Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction
125 South Webster Street
P.O. Box 7841
Madison, WI 53707-7841
Phone: (608) 267-2283 | Fax: (608) 266-1965
david.oconnor@dpi.wi.gov

Back to top 

Wyoming

Mr. Robert Black
Social Studies Consultant/Native American Liaison
Wyoming Department of Education
2300 Capitol Avenue
Hathaway Building, Second Floor
Cheyenne, WY 82002-0050
Phone: (307) 777-3747 | Fax: (307) 777-6234
rob.black1@wyo.gov

Back to top